What is a High Sheriff
   Duties and Responsibilities
   History of High Sheriffs
   How are High Sheriffs appointed?
Current High Sheriffs
High Sheriffs In Nomination
Forthcoming events
The High Sheriff Magazine
The Association
Contact us

Members area

2016/2017 High Sheriffs

County High Sheriff
Bedfordshire C E S Whitbread Esq
Berkshire Mrs V J Fishburn
Buckinghamshire The Hon Mrs C R Soames DL
Cambridgeshire Sir David Arculus
Cheshire Mrs K H Cowell OBE DL
City of Bristol Ms H M Wilde
Cornwall Mrs J Hartley
Cumbria The Revd T R Lee
Derbyshire Mrs E J Fothergill CBE
Devon Mrs A M Gilbert
Dorset Sir Philip Williams Bt JP DL
Durham G C J Salvin Esq
East Riding of Yorkshire T G Martin Esq
East Sussex M J Foster Esq DL
Essex Mrs L J Rolfe JP
Gloucestershire The Rt Hon the Countess Bathurst
Greater Manchester Lady Joy Smith DL
Greater London Sir Nigel Knowles
Hampshire T H Floyd Esq
Herefordshire W J Jackson Esq
Hertfordshire S H Stefanou Esq OBE DL
Isle of Wight R V Courage Esq MBE
Kent Mrs K F Smallwood
Lancashire John Barnett MBE DL
Leicestershire Professor S Sharma
Lincolnshire Mrs J G A Hughes DL
Merseyside J Davies Esq
Norfolk Major General Sir William Cubitt KCVO CBE
Northamptonshire Mrs C C Brocklehurst
Northumberland W Browne-Swinburne Esq
North Yorkshire J W Furness Esq
Nottinghamshire Mrs J L Naake
Oxfordshire Mrs S J Taylor
Rutland Dr S H Furness
Shropshire Mrs C M Holmes JP
Somerset E W G Bayntun-Coward Esq
South Yorkshire Dr J MacDonald
Staffordshire Colonel D L Leigh TD DL
Suffolk W B Kendall Esq DL
Surrey R Whittington Esq
Tyne and Wear J D Mowbray Esq OBE
Warwickshire R M D Samuda Esq
West Midlands Dr K G Bradshaw DL
West Sussex D M Spofforth Esq OBE
West Yorkshire C J Brown Esq
Wiltshire D K Hempleman-Adams Esq LVO OBE
Worcestershire Sir Nicholas Lechmere Bt

County High Sheriff
Clwyd J P O'Toole Esq DL
Dyfed Professor M Hughes DL
Gwent A J Clay Esq
Gwynedd Dr P G Harlech Jones
Mid Glamorgan G J George Esq
Powys Mrs A Tudor JP
South Glamorgan Professor J D Williams OBE
West Glamorgan Professor D M Mead OBE

Only honours, awards and appointments emanating from the Crown and the office of DL have been included.


Copyright 2010, High Sheriff's Association of England and Wales (The Shrievalty Association). All rights reserved. A Company Limited by Guarantee. Registered No.:03383797
Website by Fairfield Systems - admin@fairfieldsystems.co.uk   www.fairfieldsystems.co.uk