Gloucestershire 2020/2021

Welcome to the home page of the Gloucestershire High Sheriff’s website.

High Sheriff

Mrs H E Lovatt

1018 Evesham Road, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire GL52 2AN

Born in New Zealand, Helen came to England when she was 7, with her siblings and parents, who were returning to the UK. She moved to Gloucestershire as a teenager and did her A Levels at Cheltenham Ladies’ College. After completing her Law degree at the University of Reading and serving her Articles in Birmingham, on qualifying as a Solicitor, she returned to practice in Gloucester. Helen juggled her career as a corporate finance lawyer with family life, as well as a commitment to the voluntary sector both as a fundraiser for the NSPCC and the national Star College and in governance roles at her children’s schools and at Gloucestershire College. Since escaping from the law in 2010, she has carried out a range of business consultancy roles and devoted more time to the voluntary sector. She was until February 2019 a trustee of Gloucestershire Community Foundation. Helen is Warden of the Honourable Company of Gloucestershire until May 2020. She and Iain were married in 1986 and they have 4 children, Sarah, Fergus, Gregor and Louise. They have lived in Pittville, Cheltenham for 26 years. in her spare time, she enjoys travelling, supporting Gloucester Rugby, watching cricket, walking and skiing.

Helen’s theme for the year is ACES (Adverse Childhood Experiences)

Under Sheriff

Julian Archard

Tanners Solicitors LLP
Lancaster House, Thomas Street, Cirencester, Gloucestershire GL7 2AX

T: 01285 646112

High Sheriffs Chaplain

Canon Alan Finley

High Sheriffs Cadets

Joshua Hogg & Joanna Fajkowska


2019/2020 High Sheriff
R C G Berkeley Esq

2018/2019 High Sheriff
Charles Martell

2017/2018 High Sheriff
Lt Colonel A J Tabor JP

2016/2017 High Sheriff
The Rt Hon The Countess Bathurst

2015/2016 High Sheriff
Dr R J Head DL

2014/2015 High Sheriff
T A F Frost Esq

2013/2014 High Sheriff
The Hon Hugh J H Tollemache

2012/2013 High Sheriff
R D Clegg Esq

2011/2012 High Sheriff
Mark Heywood Esq

2010/2011 High Sheriff
C Evans Esq JP DL

2009/2010 High Sheriff
Mrs A Chambers

2008/2009 High Sheriff
B M Thornton Esq