The Association

The Association was established in 1971 to represent the interests of and give assistance to High Sheriffs in England and Wales. The Association is administered by a Council comprising those elected by and taken from the membership and those occasionally co-opted by the Council. The aim of the Association is to promote and sustain the ancient Office of the High Sheriff in particular in relation to its traditional areas of responsibility. These include lending support to the judiciary and to those concerned with law enforcement and crime reduction and maintaining its links with the Queen’s Remembrancer and the Privy Council. In recent years, High Sheriffs have become closely involved with many voluntary sector organisations working in the whole community and the Association actively supports and encourages the expansion of this role.

Membership of the Association is open to past and present High Sheriffs, to those In Nomination as future High Sheriffs and also to Under Sheriffs. The Association provides advice, support and guidance for those coming into Office as well as organising an annual training seminar. In addition regional meetings covering all areas of England and Wales are held every year to provide a forum for members to share best practice and for those from individual Counties both in Office and In Nomination to meet and to exchange ideas.

National Crimebeat is the youth crime prevention charity of the Association. The Charity organises an annual awards ceremony in London for local youth crime prevention projects put forward by High Sheriffs. Full details of the charity and how to submit a project for an award are available on the charity’s own website at

Members of the High Sheriffs' Association Council


Elizabeth Hunter

Hereford & Worcestershire 2010


Lt Col Andrew Tuggey CBE DL

Gwent 2015

Honorary Secretary

James Williams Esq MBE

Honorary Treasurer

Sarah Le May

Hampshire 2019

Thomas Birch Reynardson Esq

Oxfordshire 2015

John Lee Esq OBE DL

Devon 2013

Virginia Lloyd DL

West Yorkshire 2013

Amanda Parker JP DL

Lancashire 2015

Dr Dame Robina Shah, DBE MBE JP DL

Greater Manchester 2018

Sarah Beazley

Hertfordshire 2019

Richard Cole

Rutland 2020

Michael Gurney

Norfolk 2021

Louise Bennett

West Midlands 2021

Martin McKervey

South Yorkshire 2021

Simon Miesegaes

Warwickshire 2018